UCLA Campus    |   UCLA Health    |   School of Medicine Translate:
UCLA Health It Begins With U

Dr. John Mazziotta


John C. Mazziotta is Executive Vice Dean of the David Geffen School of Medicine and Associate Vice Chancellor at UCLA

John Mazziotta, MD, PhD - Interim Co-President, UCLA Faculty Practice Group

John C. Mazziotta, MD, PhD
Executive Vice Dean, David Geffen School of Medicine
and Associate Vice Chancellor at UCLA
Interim Co-President, UCLA Faculty Practice Group
Chair, UCLA Faculty Practice Group Clinical Chairs

As Interim Co-President of the UCLA Faculty Practice Group, Dr. John C. Mazziotta provides oversight of external activities with the campus, Office of the UC President, other UC medical campuses, regional referral sites and national opportunities. Dr. Mazziotta also serves as the Chair of the FPG Clinical Chairs, an elected position representing the Clinical Departments.

In addition, Dr. Mazziotta is Chair of the Department of Neurology in the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. An expert in brain imaging, Dr. Mazziotta is the founder and Director of the UCLA Ahmanson-Lovelace Brain Mapping Center. He has been the principal investigator of the International Consortium for Brain Mapping, which has the goal of developing the first comprehensive atlas of the structure and function of the normal adult human brain.

Dr. Mazziotta earned his M.D. and Ph.D. in neuroanatomy and computer science from Georgetown University. Following an internship at Georgetown, he completed neurology and nuclear medicine training at UCLA and joined the faculty here in 1983.

Dr. Mazziotta has published more than 260 research papers and eight texts. He has received numerous awards and honors, including the Oldendorf Award from the American Society of Neuroimaging, the S. Weir Mitchell Award and the Wartenberg Prize of the American Academy of Neurology, and the Von Hevesy Prize from the International Society of Nuclear Medicine. Dr. Mazziotta also has been elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and he is a member of the Royal College of Physicians.