UCLA Campus    |   UCLA Health    |   School of Medicine Translate:
UCLA Health It Begins With U

Meet the Staff

Other than the Program Director and Manager, every staff member of the Care Extender program are volunteers who give their time on a weekly basis to not only help patients in their assigned departments, but also ensure that the Care Extender program functions smoothly.  From Department Coordinators who oversee 20-30 Care Extender volunteers every rotation to the Special Projects Coordinators who each have their own unique responsibilities, our staff members work hard to uphold the program's integrity and prestige.  These staff members are the ones who lead orientation, Multiple Mini Interview sessions, and two Training Days every quarter to recruit and train new Care Extender volunteers.

 

Silva Thomas  

Care Extender Director - Silva Thomas
Silva Thomas is a UCLA graduate in the field of biochemistry. She started working at SM - UCLA Medical Center and Orthopaedic Hospital in November of 1996 as a Care Extender Intern. After 4 years of being a volunteer, Silva took on the Manager role and is now the Director for the Program. She also oversees the Intern Program designed for students interested in Healthcare Administration.

 

 Silva Thomas  

Care Extender Manager- Stephanie Hinojosa
Stephanie Hinojosa graduated from Loyola Marymount University with a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration. She previously worked in Operations for the David Geffen School of Medicine. Stephanie assumed the role of the Care Extender Manager in September of 2013.

Care Extenders Staff Listing

Note: as of February 27, 2014, Care Extenders Staff have new contact emails. Please check below to see the updated emails. The old email addresses are now inactive. When sending emails (inactivation requests, Leave of Absence requests, emails to Department Coordinators), make sure you are using the updated emails. Thank you.
 
  Executive Staff  
         

Director
Silva Thomas
sithomas@mednet.ucla.edu

Office: (310) 267-8186
Pager: (310) 206-8477 ID# 92463

     

Manager
Stephanie Hinojosa stephaniehinojosa@mednet.ucla.edu

Office: (310) 267-8180 Monday,
(424) 259-8166 , Tuesday-Friday      Pager: (310) 206-8477 ID# 91263

         
    Associate Manager
Sharona Hariri
SSHariri@mednet.ucla.edu
   
         

DC Supervisor SMH
Barsegh Barseghian
BBarseghian@mednet.ucla.edu

  DC Supervisor SMH
Greg Kojayan
GKojayan@mednet.ucla.edu
  DC Supervisor WW
Bryan Leong
BLeong@mednet.ucla.edu
         
Santa Monica Department Coordinators
         
LKC/CCL
Michael Nedjat-Haiem
MNedjatHaiem@mednet.ucla.edu
 

Critical Care Unit
Michelle Sanchez
MichelleSanchez@mednet.ucla.edu

 

  Orthopaedics
Hayk Hakobyan
HHakobyan@mednet.ucla.edu
         

NICU
Kevin Widjaja
KWidjaja@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Emergency Room
Group A
Sophie Zhao 
ZijunZhao@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Post Partum
Olga Belikova OBelikova@mednet.ucla.edu

 

         

Medical Surgical
Kasia Banas   KBanas@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Emergency Room
Group B

Bernie Wu       PoyiWu@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

SMH Pediatrics
Shanelle Shahery
SShahery@mednet.ucla.edu

         
Radiology
Shayan Senaati
SSenaati@mednet.ucla.edu
  Greeters Group A    
David Minishian     DMinishian@mednet.ucla.edu
 

Greeters Group B
Nathan Stumpf     NStumpf@mednet.ucla.edu

 

         
Oncology
Jennifer Strunck
JStrunck@mednet.ucla.edu
 

OR-Escorts
Kevin Kaminyar    KKaminyar@mednet.ucla.edu

 

  Labor & Delivery                   Christine Chiu
CEChiu@mednet.ucla.edu
       

 

 

 

     
         
Ronald Reagan Medical Center Department Coordinators
         

8 North 
Natalie Kemanjian NKemanjian@mednet.ucla.edu

 

7-ICU 
Laura Banashek
LBanashek@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

RRH-PEDS
Yosephine Lumintang
YLumintang@mednet.ucla.edu

         

7W-CTU
Eunice Ng           SzeYinNg@mednet.ucla.edu

 

5-ICU (PICU)
Samvel Gyurdzhyan   SGyurdzhyan@mednet.ucla.edu

 

8-ICU (Liver Transplant)
Tuyet Tran
TuyetTran@mednet.ucla.edu

 

         

MICU
Arpine Galstyan
AGalstyan@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

8 East/West
Tiffani Zhao
HandiZhao@mednet.ucla.edu

 

6E (Oncology)                                 TBA

 

         

7E                                            TBA

 

Greeters Group A
Emmie Giang
EGiang@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Greeters Group B
Natalie Hirmez
NHirmez@mednet.ucla.edu

         
         
Special Program Coordinators
         
Admissions Coordinator
Cynthia Wang
CynWang@mednet.ucla.edu
 

Training/Extension/Office Assistant Coordinator
Chelsea Jones ChelseaJones@mednet.ucla.edu

 

LOA Coordinator
Alyssa Linkenheil
ALinkenheil@mednet.ucla.edu

         
Administrative/Website Coordinator
Jessica Kim
JessicaKim@mednet.ucla.edu
  Newsletter Coordinator
Katherine Diep
KDiep@mednet.ucla.edu
 

 Data Manager
Kevin Lee
KYLee@mednet.ucla.edu

         

Quality Control Coordinator - SMH
Alexis Alejandre
AAlejandre@mednet.ucla.edu 

 

 Quality Control Coordinator - RRH Suzan Arasheben SArasheben@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Public Relations Coordinator
Tracy Pope
TPope@mednet.ucla.edu

         

 Special Projects Coordinator
Ann Yufa  AYufa@mednet.ucla.edu

  Alumni Coordinator
Carleen Sarksian
CSarksian@mednet.ucla.edu
 

Preferences Coordinator
Elizabeth Watson Ewatson@mednet.ucla.edu