UCLA Campus    |   UCLA Health    |   School of Medicine Translate:
UCLA Health It Begins With U

Meet the Staff

Other than the Program Director and Manager, every staff member of the Care Extender program are volunteers who give their time on a weekly basis to not only help patients in their assigned departments, but also ensure that the Care Extender program functions smoothly.  From Department Coordinators who oversee 20-30 Care Extender volunteers every rotation to the Special Projects Coordinators who each have their own unique responsibilities, our staff members work hard to uphold the program's integrity and prestige.  These staff members are the ones who lead orientation, Multiple Mini Interview sessions, and two Training Days every quarter to recruit and train new Care Extender volunteers.

 

Silva Thomas  

Care Extender Director - Silva Thomas
Silva Thomas is a UCLA graduate in the field of biochemistry. She started working at SM - UCLA Medical Center and Orthopaedic Hospital in November of 1996 as a Care Extender Intern. After 4 years of being a volunteer, Silva took on the Manager role and is now the Director for the Program. She also oversees the Intern Program designed for students interested in Healthcare Administration.

 

 Silva Thomas  

Care Extender Manager- Stephanie Hinojosa
Stephanie Hinojosa graduated from Loyola Marymount University with a Bachelor's degree in Business Administration. She previously worked in Operations for the David Geffen School of Medicine. Stephanie assumed the role of the Care Extender Manager in September of 2013.

Care Extenders Staff Listing 

  Executive Staff  
         

Director
Silva Thomas
sithomas@mednet.ucla.edu

Office: (310) 267-8186
Pager: (310) 206-8477 ID# 92463

     

Manager
Stephanie Hinojosa stephaniehinojosa@mednet.ucla.edu

Office: (310) 267-8180 Monday,
(424) 259-8166 , Tuesday-Friday      Pager: (310) 206-8477 ID# 91263

         
   

Associate Manager
Sharona Hariri
SHariri@mednet.ucla.edu

   
         

DC Supervisor SMH
Barsegh Barseghian
BBarseghian@mednet.ucla.edu

 

DC Supervisor SMH
Greg Kojayan
GKojayan@mednet.ucla.edu

 

DC Supervisor RRH
Bryan Leong
BLeong@mednet.ucla.edu

         

DC Supervisor RRH
Samvel Gyurdzhyan   SGyurdzhyan@mednet.ucla.edu

 

SPC Supervisor
Chelsea Jones ChelseaJones@mednet.ucla.edu

 

SPC Supervisor
Shayan Senaati SSenaati@mednet.ucla.edu

         
Santa Monica Department Coordinators
         

LKC/CCL
Michael Nedjat-Haiem
MNedjatHaiem@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Critical Care Unit
Michelle Sanchez
MichelleSanchez@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

 

Orthopaedics
Antranig Mesrobian
AMesrobian@mednet.ucla.edu

         

NICU
Kevin Widjaja
KWidjaja@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Emergency Room Group A
Sophie Zhao 
ZijunZhao@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Post Partum
Olga Belikova OBelikova@mednet.ucla.edu

 

         

Medical Surgical
Kasia Banas   KBanas@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

Emergency Room Group B
Jennifer Strunck
JStrunck@mednet.ucla.edu 

 

 

SMH Pediatrics
Shanelle Shahery
SShahery@mednet.ucla.edu

         

Radiology
Hayk Hakobyan HHakobyan@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Greeters Group A    
Tina Torbati     TTorbati@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Greeters Group B
Anasheh Almasi    AAlmasi@mednet.ucla.edu

 

         

 

Oncology    
Emily Hoffberg     EHoffberg@mednet.ucla.edu

  

 

OR-Escorts
Kevin Kaminyar    KKaminyar@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

Labor&Delivery                              Christine Chiu
CEChiu@mednet.ucla.edu

       

 

Geriatrics
Michael Kaplan    MichaelKaplan@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

Surgery Center
Devan Sheth    DSheth@mednet.ucla.edu

   
         
Ronald Reagan Medical Center Department Coordinators
         

 

8 North 
Lilit Galstyan LGalstyan@mednet.ucla.edu

 

7-ICU 
Laura Banashek
LBanashek@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

7E/5E Medical Telemetry
Allison Zimmerman AZimmerman@mednet.ucla.edu 

         

7W-CTU 
David Minishian           DMinishian@mednet.ucla.edu

 

5-ICU (PICU)
Emmie Giang
EGiang@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

8-ICU (Liver Transplant)
Natalie Kemanjian NKemanjian@mednet.ucla.edu 

         

MICU
Arpine Galstyan
AGalstyan@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

8East/West 
Stella Zaringhalam
SZaringhalam@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

6E Oncology
Carleen Sarksian CSarksian@mednet.ucla.edu 

         

ER
Sze Yin (Eunice) Ng
SzeYinNg@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

Greeters Group A
Meghan Sherman
MNSherman@mednet.ucla.edu

 

 

Greeters Group B
Natalie Hirmez
NHirmez@mednet.ucla.edu

         

RRH-PEDS A
Tiffani Zhao
HandiZhao@mednet.ucla.edu

 

                                

RRH-PEDS B
Nathan Strumpf
NStrumpf@mednet.ucla.edu

 

         
Special Program Coordinators
         

Extension/Preference Coordinator
Melanie De La Cruz
MelanieDeLaCruz@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Training/OA Coordinator
Chelsea Jones ChelseaJones@mednet.ucla.edu

 

LOA Coordinator
Alyssa Linkenheil
ALinkenheil@mednet.ucla.edu

         

 

Admissions Coordinator
Mark Friedman
MikeFriedman@mednet.ucla.edu 

 

Website Coordinator
Joshua Shing
JShing@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Administrative/Data Manager
Kevin Lee
KYLee@mednet.ucla.edu

         

 

Quality Control Coordinator - SMH
Alexis Alejandre
AAlejandre@mednet.ucla.edu 

 

Quality Control Coordinator - RRH Suzan Arasheben SArasheben@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Public Relations Coordinator
Scott Messier
SMessier@mednet.ucla.edu

         

Newsletter Coordinator
Katherine Diep
KDiep@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Alumni Coordinator
Carleen Sarksian
CSarksian@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Special Projects Coordinator
Ann Yufa
AYufa@mednet.ucla.edu