Faculty and Staff


Clarence Braddock III, MD, MPH
Interim Director, Ethics Center
Professor of Medicine
Executive Vice Dean and Vice Dean for Education
Maxine and Eugene Rosenfeld Chair in Medical Education
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA


James A. Hynds, LL.B., Ph.D
Associate Director, Ethics Center
Director of the Clinical Ethics Fellowship Program
Senior Clinical Ethicist, Ethics Center

James Lin, MD

James Lin, MD
Interim Medical Director
Chair Ethics Committee UCLA Santa Monica Hospital 
Professor of Pediatrics


Neil Wenger, MD, MPH
Director Emeritus, Ethics Center
Medical Director, Advance Care Planning Program
Professor of Medicine and Health Services Research, UCLA


Joseph Raho, PhD
Clinical Ethicist, Ethics Center, UCLA Health
Vice Chair, UCLA Santa Monica Ethics Committee
Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Pediatrics
David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA


Hamest Karayan, BSHA
Administrative Assisstant III


Joanna Smolenski, PhD
Senior Clinical Fellow 



Dylan Manson, PhD
Clinical Fellow 

Former Faculty and Staff 

Katherine Brown

Katherine Brown-Saltzman
(Founding) Director, Emerita. 

*Clinical Ethics Consultation is available during office hours from 8am to 5pm by calling the Page Operator at 310 825-6301 and asking for Ethics or paging "Ethics".  Ethics consultation is also available 24/7 for emergent issue after business hours, weekends, and holidays.