Jie Deng, MD, PhD
Accepting new patients

Jie Deng, MD, PhD

  • Radiation Oncology
Westwood Radiation Oncology | 200 Medical Plaza, Suite B265, Los Angeles, CA 90095


Jie Deng, MD, PhD is an Assistant Professor in the UCLA Department of Radiation Oncology. As a physician-scientist, her primary clinical focus includes treating patients with lung cancer and gastrointestinal cancers using advanced radiation techniques such as stereotactic body radiation therapy (SBRT) and magnetic resonance-guided radiation therapy (MRgRT) to deliver targeted and personalized radiation treatments.

Dr. Deng completed her combined MD/PhD training at Dartmouth Medical School where she studied the regulation of immune checkpoint expression within the cancer microenvironment to identify strategic combinations of immunotherapies. Notably, her work contributed to the clinical development of a novel immunotherapy to treat cancer. Dr. Deng completed her residency in Radiation Oncology at UCLA and was selected to train under the B. Leonard Holman Research Pathway. Her research program is focused on studying the myeloid cell response to therapies such as radiotherapy and immunotherapy. By conducting laboratory investigations and clinical trials, she aims to uncover innovative strategies for the treatment of cancer. She is a recipient of NIH grants, a Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center (JCCC) Fellowship Award, and the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Young Investigator Award.





Radiation Oncology, UCLA Dept of Radiation Oncology, 2023


Transitional, Resurrection Medical Center, 2019


MD, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, 2018
PhD, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, 2016


  • Ruth L. Kirschstein Institutional National Resesarch Service Award, 2022-2023
  • ASCO Conquer Cancer Young Investigator Award, 2022
  • ASTRO Annual Meeting Basic Translational Award, 2022
  • See More

Hospital Affiliations

Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center

UCLA Santa Monica Medical Center



Dr. Jie Deng is a physician-scientist who specializes in the study of myeloid cell biology in the context of cancer progression, radiation therapy and immunotherapy. Across numerous malignancies, myeloid cells (rather than lymphocytes) emerge as the predominant cellular subset within the tumor. Myeloid cells exhibit multifaceted roles but within the tumor, often converge towards immunosuppressive functions that enable tumor growth, metastasis, and resistance to therapy. Dr. Deng’s research program seeks to understand how these myeloid cells can be advantageously rewired away from immunosuppressive functions and towards the initiation of endogenous, durable anti-tumor immunity. 


  • Aetna
  • Anthem Blue Cross
  • Blue Shield of California
  • Centivo
  • Cigna
  • First Health
  • Health Net of California
  • Interplan (part of HealthSmart)
  • L.A. Care
  • MultiPlan
  • UFCM Health System
  • Prime Health Services
  • Private Healthcare Systems (PHCS)
  • UnitedHealthcare

The list of health care plans above may not be comprehensive and could change. 
Please contact your benefits coordinator or health insurance company directly to verify coverage.

Visit our health insurance information page for more details.


  • Ruth L. Kirschstein Institutional National Resesarch Service Award, 2022-2023
  • ASCO Conquer Cancer Young Investigator Award, 2022
  • ASTRO Annual Meeting Basic Translational Award, 2022
  • UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center Fellowship Award, 2021-2022
  • American Board of Radiology, Leonard B. Holman Research Pathway Fellowship, 2021-2022
  • UCLA Cultural North Star Recognition, 2021
  • American Society for Radiation Oncology Advocacy Day Travel Award, 2019
  • Elected Transitional Year Graduate Medical Education Chief, 2018-2019
  • Dartmouth Medical School MD/PhD Full Scholarship, 2009-2018
  • Hitchcock Foundation Research Award, 2016
  • D.F. Philanthropic Award for Research, 2016
  • Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Service Award, 2012-2014
  • American Gastroenterological Association MD/PhD Workshop Award, 2013                    
  • National Institutes of Health Barbara A. Hughes Award of Excellence, 2008
  • Anderson Scholar of High Distinction, 2007
  • University of Florida President’s Award, 2005-2007
  • Florida Bright Future’s Full Scholarship, 2005-2009