Program Directors

Alain Chichom-Mefire, MD

Alain Chichom-Mefire, MD

University of Buea

Dr. Chichom is a Professor of General Surgery and the Vice-Dean in charge of Research and Cooperation at the Faculty of Health Sciences at University of Buea. He was the Head of the Department of Surgery in the same faculty for over a decade. He has designed and implemented a curriculum for undergraduate training in general surgery for the University and teaches a module on non-communicable diseases to MPH and PhD students in the Buea’s Department of Public Health and Hygiene.


Catherine J. Juillard, MD, MPH

Program for the Advancement of Surgical Equity (PASE)-UCLA

Dr. Juillard is a trauma surgeon and founding co-Director of PASE-UCLA, which aims to improve access for quality surgical care in LMICs. She has over 13 years of experience leading research studies in Cameroon and Sub-Saharan Africa (SSA), which focus on improving access for quality trauma care, including serving as MPI with Dr. Chichom for NIH-funded projects on mHealth and trauma QI.

Dr. Sandra McCoy

Sandra McCoy

Program for the Advancement of Surgical Equity (PASE)-UCLA, UC Berkeley

Dr. McCoy is core faculty at PASE-UCLA, an Associate Professor of Epidemiology, and Program Lead and Curriculum Coordinator of the UC Berkeley Epidemiology and Biostatistics Online MPH program (OOMPH). For a decade, Dr. McCoy has provided mentorship to trainees at the undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral, and junior faculty levels, including postdoctoral fellows in SSA through the NIH Fogarty Global Health Equity Scholars Program.

Lead Faculty

Nicholas Tendongfor, PhD

Nicholas Tendongfor, PhD

Dr. Tendongfor is an Associate Professor of Medical Microbiology and Head of the Department of Public Health and Hygiene at the University of Buea. He has expertise in community directed interventions, health programs evaluation, and experimental design and data analysis. He has served as principal and co-principal investigator in many WHO, European Union and European Foundation Initiative for Neglected Tropical Diseases (EFINT)-sponsored projects implemented in Cameroon and other SSA countries.

Georges Nguefack-Tsague, PhD

Georges Nguefack-Tsague

Dr. Nguefack-Tsague currently teaches coursework in Biostatistics, Data Science and Health Informatics. His research addresses topics in data analysis, programmatic mapping and size estimation of populations most at risk of HIV, HIV modelling, and health information systems, health research secondary data analysis, in particular demographic and health survey (DHS) data.

Dr. Alan Hubbard

Alan Hubbard

PASE-UCLA, UC Berkeley

Dr. Hubbard is a Professor of Biostatistics, Co-Director of the Biomedical Big Data pre-doctoral (T32) training program, co-Director of the Center of Targeted Learning, Director of the computational biology Core E of the SuperFund Center at University of California, Berkeley (NIH/EPA), and is a consulting statistician on multiple federally funded and foundation projects. He has worked on a diverse range of projects, with most work focused on semi-parametric estimation in high-dimensional data.

Program Coordinators

Rasheedat Oke, MD, MPH

Rasheedat Oke, MD, MPH

Program Coordinator at PASE-UCLA

Dr. Oke is a physician with specialty training in public health and a Program Manager at PASE-UCLA. She has over a decade of public health experience collaborating in various academic, clinical, and programmatic settings. She is also experienced working with underserved and vulnerable populations in LMICs.

Nahyeni Bassah, PhD

Nahyeni Bassah, PhD

Program Coordinator at University of Buea

Dr. Bassah is a trained nurse by profession and a nurse educator by specialization. She holds a PhD in Nursing and has a wealth of experience in training program development, implementation, and evaluation. She has over 11 years of experience as a nurse educator and serves as a curriculum consultant for most nursing schools in Cameroon.

STREaM Cameroon is supported by the Fogarty International Center of the National Institutes of Health under Award Number D43TW012186.