Quick Links to Staff Websites

Nursing Staff Website Ambulatory Care Nursing Staff Website

What is The DAISY Award?

The DAISY Foundation was formed in November 1999, by the family of J. Patrick Barnes, who died at age 33 of complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP).   DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune SYstem. Patrick's family was profoundly touched by the kind and compassionate care provided by the nursing staff during his hospitalization.  In Patrick's memory, the family wanted to express their gratitude for the gift nurses share with  patients and families every day, just as they had experienced.  

Who is Eligible for The DAISY Award?


DAISY Individual or Team Award

DAISY Award honorees personify UCLA Health’s remarkable patient experience.

Daisy Individual or Team Award

All Nominations Welcome!
The DAISY Award for Extraordinary Nurses was created to ensure that nurses know how deserving they are of our society's profound respect for the education, training, brainpower, and skill they put into their work, and especially for the care that they share with patients and families

DAISY Award honorees personify UCLA Health's remarkable patient experience. These nurses consistently demonstrate excellence through their clinical expertise and extraordinary compassionate care, and they are recognized as outstanding role models in our nursing community.

DAISY Award recipients are registered nurses who exemplify the nursing values: Extraordinary CompassionRespectExcellenceDiscovery, Integrity, and Teamwork in the work they do daily. 

Back to top

Daisy Nurse Leader Award

Staff Nominated
The DAISY Nurse Leader Award recognizes nurses who are extraordinary in the impact they have on compassionate patient care. Honorees can be any UCLA nurse leader who impacts patient care directly including supervisors, managers, educators or nurses who specialize in case management, informatics or patient flow.

This Nurse Leader impacts staff and/or the patient care they manage by:

  • Role modeling extraordinary behavior    
  • Creating an environment where attributes of trust, compassion, mutual respect, continued professional development and ethical behavior are modeled and supported
  • Motivating staff with a shared vision and enthusiasm to achieve better outcomes for themselves and for their patients
  • Promoting and enhancing the professional practice of nursing within UCLA, the community and the profession

Back to top

DAISY Lifetime Achievement Award

Staff Nominated
Nominees must have at least 25 years of experience with UCLA Health and/or have received a Daisy Award prior to this nomination (search for past Daisy Award winners - be sure to complete "name" and "facility" when searching). Nominations must include evidence of at least three of the following five criteria:

  • Distinguished career as a nurse in clinical practice, administration, education, and/or research that promote a positive image of professional nursing
  • Demonstrates and actively engages in the professional development of self and others in the nursing profession
  • Serves as a role model and advocate for nursing practice and the advancement of nursing as a professional
  • Advocates for the improvement of patient care and serves as an exemplar for enhancing the patient experience
  • Recognized by the broader nursing community as a transformational nursing leader

Back to top

Let's Celebrate our DAISY Honorees

Learn how UCLA Health Daisy Award nominees have made a difference in patient care!

2023 DAISY Award

2023 DAISY Leadership Award

2023 Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Marilou Bharwani (coming soon)

2023 DAISY Team Award

Learn how UCLA Health Daisy Award nominees have made a difference in patient care!

2022 DAISY Award

2022 DAISY Leadership Award

2022 DAISY Lifetime Achievement

2022 DAISY Team Award

Resnick Neuropsychiatric Hospital at UCLA
Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center
UCLA Santa Monica Medical Center
UCLA Health

Learn how UCLA Health Daisy Award nominees have made a difference in patient care!

2021 Award

2021 DAISY Leadership Award

2021 DAISY Lifetime Achievement

2021 DAISY Team Award

Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center

Learn how UCLA Health Daisy Award nominees have made a difference in patient care!

2020 DAISY Award

2020 DAISY Leadership Award

2020 DAISY Lifetime Achievement

  • Barbara Anderson 
  • Sandra Dewar 
  • Sheri Monsein 
  • Annette Reed 

2020 DAISY Team Award

UCLA Santa Monica Medical Center

For a Complete list of UCLA Health Daisy Award Winners, Visit the Daisy Foundation Website (search "UCLA")

For comments or questions, contact:

Karyn Greenstone
Operations Manager
CENTER for Nursing Excellence
DAISY Award Program Coordinator

Cultivating Excellence in Nursing Through Education and Research