UCLA Obstetrics and Gynecology Grand Rounds

Overview

The UCLA Obstetrics and Gynecology Grand Rounds are presented for UCLA faculty, trainees, and medical students, as well as community physicians. The OBGYN department at UCLA seeks to promote excellence and quality in clinical care, as well as updates in new research and developments related to our field; and to provide a forum for discussion of topics that enhance medical education of the attendees, provide them with valuable information, and to incorporate learned content into their clinical practice. The program is conducted by UCLA faculty as well as selected guest speakers, invited to share their experience and insight.

The Grand Rounds are held twice monthly on Wednesday mornings from 7:00-8:00 am. Due to COVID-19, the presentations are currently held virtually via Zoom. These events are for professional audience members only.

Calendar of Grand Rounds Presentations for 2022 - 2023

Wednesdays, 7:00am – 8:00am. Remotely via Zoom *Open to Health Care Providers Only*

  • Wednesday, September 7, 2022 -- Dr. Neil Silverman (Video)
  • Wednesday, September 21, 2022 -- Dr. Gail Wyatt (Video)
  • Wednesday, October 5, 2022 -- Dr. Elizabeth Stewart (Video)
  • Wednesday, October 19, 2022 -- Dr. Kate Lawrenson (Video)
  • Wednesday, November 2, 2022 -- Dr. Afshan Hameed (Video)
  • Wednesday, November 16, 2022 -- Dr. Julie Cantor (Video)
  • Wednesday, November 30, 2022 -- HOLIDAY – No Lecture 
  • Wednesday, December 14, 2022 -- Dr. Emeline Aviki (Video)
  • Wednesday, January 11, 2023 -- Dr. David McIntosh (Video)
  • Wednesday, January 25, 2023 -- Dr. Steven Gabbe (Video)
  • Wednesday, February 8, 2023 -- Dr. Kristyn Brandi
  • Wednesday, February 22, 2023 --Dr. Lubna Pal
  • Wednesday, March 8, 2023 -- Dr. Lisa Skinner
  • Wednesday, March 22, 2023 -- Dr. Heidi Wendell Brown
  • Wednesday, April 5, 2023 -- Dr. Judette Louis
  • Wednesday, May 3, 2023 -- Dr. Susan Lutgendorf 
  • Wednesday May 17, 2023 -- Dr. Abigail Armstrong
  • Wednesday May 31, 2023 -- Dr. Michael Richley
  • Wednesday June 14, 2023 -- Dr. Leah Marsh
  • Wednesday June 28, 2023 -- Dr. Hannah Reiser

Accreditation

The Office of Continuing Medical Education, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA is accredited by the Accreditation Council of Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing Medical education for physicians. The office of Continuing Medical Education, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA designates this live activity for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)TM. Physicians should claim the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

Contact information

  • Faculty organizer: Zain Al-Safi, MD
  • Coordinator: Giselle Garcia, M.A.
    [email protected] 
    You may contact us with questions, or if you want to be added to our email list for upcoming grand rounds lectures.

Grand Rounds Videos

January 25, 2023
Steven Gabbe, MD
"Gestational Diabetes Detection and Management"
Video>


January 11, 2023
David McIntosh, MD
"Bystander Apathy"
Video >


December 14, 2022
Emeline Aviki, MD
“The Affordability Crisis in Cancer Care"
Video >


November 16, 2022
Julie Cantor, JD
“After Roe: What Physicians Need to Know Now About the Legal Landscape”
Video >


November 2, 2022
Afshan Hameed, MD
“Maternal Mortality due to Cardiovascular Disease: What are the next steps?”
Video >


October 19, 2022
Kate Lawrenson, MD
“Single cell transcriptomic analysis of endometriosis”
Video >


October 5, 2022
Elizabeth A. Stewart, MD
"Uterine Fibroids: 2022"
Video >


September 21, 2022
Gail Wyatt, PhD
"Confronting Historical Patterns of Reproductive Health Injustice in Women of Color
Video >


September 7, 2022
Neil Silverman, MD
(Not Just Monkeypox): Pestilence, Pox, and Pregnancy”
Video >