The UCLA Department of Anesthesiology and Perioperative Medicine offers ACGME-accredited clinical fellowships in four disciplines:

  • Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology
  • Critical Care Medicine
  • Pain Medicine
  • Pediatric Anesthesiology
We offer additional fellowships in the fields of:
  • Liver Transplantation Anesthesiology
  • Neuroanesthesiology
  • Obstetric Anesthesiology
  • Pediatric Cardiac Anesthesiology
  • Perioperative Informatics
  • Perioperative Medicine
  • Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine
  • Thoracic Anesthesiology (non-cardiac)

We also offer training in advanced transesophageal echocardiography, basic science research, and clinical research. Aspiring physician-scientists may elect to participate in the Specialty Training and Advanced Research (STAR) Program. 

Our department oversees the perioperative management of approximately 50,000 surgeries and procedures each year, with more than 130 faculty members in all clinical subspecialties. Trainees include over 100 categorical anesthesiology residents. The Department’s faculty and trainees staff approximately 60 clinical sites each day.

Areas of specialization include anesthesia for general surgery, vascular surgery, neurosurgery, cardiothoracic surgery, pediatric surgery, liver transplantation and other visceral organ transplant surgery, orthopedics, head and neck surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, urology, ophthalmology, interventional radiology, and anesthesia for invasive diagnostic and therapeutic procedures.

To learn about our fellowship programs as well as obtain application information, please visit the web page for the fellowship of your interest.

Anesthesiology Fellowship Program