The Stein Eye Institute Board of Trustees was established in 1977 to ensure the Institute’s orderly growth and development. The Board meets regularly during the year, with each Trustee providing his/her unique counsel. Collectively, their invaluable contributions have included fiscal planning for the Institute, adoption of measures to facilitate recruitment of the world’s finest vision scientists, allocation of funds for the purchase of vision research equipment, and recommendations for facilities expansion programs.

Trustee Anne C. Coleman, MD, PhD

Anne L. Coleman, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Ophthalmology
Director, Stein Eye Institute
Affiliation Chair, Doheny Eye Institute
2022- present




Norman Abrams
Distinguished Professor of Law Emeritus, UCLA Law School
Acting Chancellor Emeritus, UCLA
2015 – present


Marissa Goldberg
Executive Director and
Chief Financial Officer
Doheny Eye Institute
2015 – present


Katrina vanden Heuvel
Publisher and Editor
The Nation
1984 – present


Bart H. Williams
Proskauer Rose LLP
2021 – present


Charles T. Foscue
President and CEO
HAI Financial, Inc.
2020 – present


Ronald L. Olson, Esq.
Munger, Tolles & Olson
1995 – present


Casey Wasserman
President and
Chief Executive Officer
The Wasserman Foundation
1998 – present