DAPM Shines at the CSA 2023 Annual Meeting

April 27-30, 2023

For the past several decades, the Department of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine (DAPM) at UCLA has had a strong presence within the California Society of Anesthesiologists (CSA). DAPM physicians had another impressive showing at the CSA 2023 Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA, from April 27 to 30 this year.

Two of our faculty physicians won inaugural CSA President’s Impact Awards, which were introduced by CSA Immediate Past President Edward Mariano, MD, MAS, FASA, FASRA, in celebration of the organization’s 75th anniversary this year. Sophia Poorsattar, MD, received the “Educator of the Year” award for her exceptional leadership of the CSA-UCLA DAPM Project Lead the Way community outreach program. John Patton III, MD, MBA, received the “Rising Star” award for his excellence as an early-career anesthesiologist and his tremendous potential as a physician leader.

Several DAPM members provided outstanding educational content for meeting attendees. Rana Movahedi, MD, FASA, spoke on the “Regional Anesthesia Best Practices Panel.” Dr. Movahedi and Pamela Chia, MD, MS, also instructed attendees on ultrasound-guided peripheral nerve blocks and point-of-care ultrasound (POCUS) during the Regional/POCUS Workshop.

Emily Methangkool, MD, MPH, gave a compelling presentation on “Production Pressure, Communication, and Teamwork Triple Threats (and Opportunities!) for Patient Safety.” Jordan Francke, MD, MPH, CA-2, 1st place winner of the CSA 2023 History of Anesthesia Essay Contest, delivered a vivid narrative in “The Danger of Using a Medical Eponym: Missing the Point of the ‘Tuohy’ Needle.” Benjamin Chu, MD, regional anesthesiology fellow physician, presented an oral abstract mentored by Siamak Rahman, MD, on “Efficacy of Stellate Ganglion Block for Pain Control After Transoral Robotic Head and Neck Surgery.”

Several resident physicians showcased their work through poster presentations. Dr. Francke discussed “The Impact of COVID-19 on Staff at Georgetown Public Health Corporation (GPBS), a tertiary referral hospital in Guyana.” John Kleinman, MD, Chief Resident, spoke on “The Use of a Hemodynamic Monitor Perceptual and Adaptive Learning Module to Improve Clinical Interpretation Skills in Anesthesiology Residents”—a project that he worked on with faculty member Jason Lee, MD. Austin Wu, MD, CA-2, discussed “Anesthesia Considerations in a Patient with an Unstable Cervical Spine in Halo Fixation,” mentored by Betelehem Asnake, MD. Douglas “Rocky” Campbell, MD, CA-3, presented a case report on “Intraoperative Massive Pulmonary Embolism During Thrombectomy of an Arteriovenous Fistula;” his faculty mentors were Dr. Patton and Andrew “Ace” Young, MD.

Finally, numerous UCLA faculty members participated in the CSA Board of Directors meeting: Philip Levin, MD, FASA, Dr. Movahedi, Johnathan Pregler, MD, FASA, James Moore, MD, and Jane Moon, MD. Dr. Moon, CSA History Committee Chair, apprised the Board of ongoing projects to celebrate CSA’s Diamond Jubilee. During the meeting, it was also announced that Dr. Levin, Past CSA Secretary, was the prime candidate for CSA President-Elect.

Dr. Levin assumed the role of President-Elect at the June 2023 CSA House of Delegates; he will be officially instated as CSA President in June 2024. Dr. Movahedi, Past District 6 Director, also assumed the role of CSA Assistant Secretary at the June 2023 House of Delegates. Dr. Moore continues in his role as CSA President Emeritus, and Dr. Pregler as ASA Alternate Director for California.

The CSA Annual Meeting was a great venue for DAPM members to highlight their work, discuss key issues affecting anesthesiologists today, and learn from and network with other anesthesiologists from across the state.